The Akita

Okay, I want to talk about another breed of dog instead of the border collie. This blog is about a breed called:
“The Akita”

The Akita is another favorite breed of mine. It was my first dog, her name was Yuki. She was a purebred my parents bought from a breeder. She displayed typical Akita behaviors, she was territorial, animal aggressive and not particularly fond of strangers. We even had a few incidents where she attacked a few pet dogs. But over all we loved her very much. She had her good points,she was a exceptionally loyal to the family, me and my brother were very young and she was very gentle around us. She even learned to live with the cats.

We had her before Lucky. Yuki died at 12 years old due to several health issues. Since we got Lucky a few years later, I hadnt thought too much about another Akita until recently since trying to adopt a Border Collie has gone to hell. I redid my research and learn about the two variations of the Akita.

One would be the Japanese Akita Inu, which is the orange and white face/brindles with a “fox” like appearance and somewhat of a thinner build.
The American Akita is somewhat of a thinker build. They typically has black masks and have a more “bear” like appearance.

In the United States & Canada are the only countries who sees these two types as one breed of dog. While the rest of the world separates these two types astwo separate breeds of dogs.

You know what I think of that? I think its ridiculous.

Through my research I have found that these two dogs, are the same breed. In fact the only difference between the two are physical appearance and structure.

When considering one or the other, you still have to train them and socialize them, they are prone to the same temperament, territorial and health issues.
In Japan, the American Akita was developed from selective breeding. This was considered an “ugly” trait. But it continued to be bred. Helen Keller brought the first Akita to America, hers were American Akitas.
Japan cut off all American bloodlines from Japanese bloodlines.These traits were considered wrong and they want to keep the original look of the Japanese Akita Inu. Therefore separating the two dogs as breeds rather then types of one breed.
This is a delicate subject among Akita fanciers, and Ive already had people “flame” me for calling them “Akitas”

Im sorry, but I dont see the sense in separating one dog as two breeds for “personal taste” reasons.

Leave a comment